What’s for Dinner?

26 Jan

For about the last 6 months I have attempted to be very diligent at meal planning.  For the most part it goes quite well.  Around twice a month I will sit down and come up with an assortment of meals then put them on the calendar according to what activities we may or may not have each evening.

The planning is still going ok (well, except for one week of nothing but pork!), but my cooking game is off.  I can’t figure why I am having such a hard time making meals come out tasting like they should.  Things I have made many, many times are flopping.  Even chili!  Come on, how hard is it to make that? 

I told my husband that I think I am bored with food.  His idea was to have the kids meal plan for a week or so.  Maybe making the “oldies but goodies” will help me get back in the game.  So I did just that.  Here is what my 16 year old “I only want American food”, 14 year old “not a picky eater”, and 11 year old “will try anything once”  kids came up with:

  • Cheeseburger Pie (but made with sausage – isn’t that the same as breakfast casserole?)
  • General Tso’s Chicken (you can buy this as a meal kit, Tyson I think)
  • Beanie Weenies (Really?  This was my 14 year old daughter’s pick!)
  • Chicken ‘n Dumplins
  • Fried Pork Chops
  • Chicken Nuggets with Fries
  • Tacos
  • Chicken Alfredo
  • Cheesey Chicken & Rice (this is one of my own recipe creations!)
  • One night will be pizza delivery

Cheesey and fried seem to be the theme.  

I am hoping that when the “kid’s choice” week is up I will be back in the saddle.  In the meantime I will be surfing through all my favorite food blogs for a bit of inspiration.

2 Responses to “What’s for Dinner?”

  1. Theresa January 26, 2011 at 11:46 am #

    I have five children ages 17, 15, 14, 13, 11. I don’t meal plan a calendar but make a list of dinner options based on what’s available in the pantry, freezer, etc. That also helps keep my grocery list up to date. Do your kids help in the kitchen?

    • Melissa January 26, 2011 at 3:02 pm #

      I can usually count on my middle child to give me a hand. My goal is to only shop twice a month so my shopping list is made after the meals are planned. This works out pretty well.

Leave a Reply

