My Favorite 16 Year Old

2 Dec

No one ever told me that when your sixteen year old daughter has a boyfriend, the rest of the family dates him too!

Shelby is always so excited to announce the arrival of said boyfriend every time he comes over.  She will bring him into the family room announcing “Al’s here” as if she is presenting him to us for the first time.  We tease her about this but she does not care.

Her boyfriend is a very nice young man and he treats her well.  He is at our house alot and that is fine with me; I know where they are and what they are doing.  He has never been shy about hanging out with the whole family.  He is perfectly happy to take a nap on our couch, talk sports with John or hang out in the kitchen with me waiting to see what is for dinner.  Seventeen year old boys eat alot!   I never have to worry about what I am going to do with left-overs because there usually aren’t any. 

The two of them are pretty much attached at the hip.  You would think the world is coming to an end if they don’t get to see each other after school every day.  It’s not like they didn’t see each other at school all day, they share a locker for crying out loud!

Shelby has a heart the size of Texas and when she likes (or dare I say loves) someone or something she goes all out to express her feelings.  She is so genuine.  She fights like crazy with her brother and sister but don’t even think about messing with one of them or you will have Shelby to deal with.  She has this amazing ability to connect with the special needs kids at school and is very protective of them too. 

I guess you could say that I am ever so slightly jealous of her.  She is not the least bit shy and never goes anywhere without making at least one new friend.  Where I am a little bit on the shy side and have never been able to just strike up a conversation with a complete stranger.  When she was little she would just walk right up to another child and say “will you be my friend?”.  How can you say “no” to that?  Even now it is not uncommon for her to come home from school and tell me she made a new friend today.  “Where did you meet him/her?” I ask.  “Oh, in the lunch line.”  Like it is normal to make new friends every day in the lunch line!  For Shelby, this is the norm.

She works as a hostess at a restaurant in town.  This is the perfect job for her, she can just chat with every person who comes through the door.  And believe me, she does.

Leave a Reply

