Duchess

24 Nov

 

This is Duchess.  Just look at the cute face.  You can’t help but spoil her.  Here is a short story about how she has us trained.

We have this habit of DVR’ing our favorite shows and watching them on the weekend, primarily so we can fast forward through the commercials.  

While on intermission between sitcoms we made drinks and let Duchess out.  She just sat there on the step and did not do any “business”.  When she came back in she still expected her treat, after all, she did go outside.  Well, no business, no treat!
 
John and I were standing in the kitchen just leaning against the counter and the conversation started like this:
 
Me:  “Look at her, she is waiting for a treat”
John:  “She doesn’t get one, she didn’t do anything”
Me:  “Come on, you won’t give in to that cute face?”
 
Duchess realizes that we are talking about her and comes over to sit between us.
 
The rest of this conversation John begins speaking “FOR” the dog.  So this is a one sided conversation from this point on unless otherwise noted.
 
“Um, excuse me, you owe me a treat”  (she tilts her head to the side)
“I’m sitting, do I need to lay down?”  (she starts to lay down, but simply goes into 1/2 sitting, 1/2 laying)
“Rollover?”  (she looks on the floor to see if maybe her treat was dropped and she missed it)
“Am I sitting the right way?”  (She makes her cute face)
“Hello?”  (licks chops)
“I just licked my chops.  Maybe if I lick my chops he will realize I still need a treat” (licks chops again)
(chomp, chomp, chomp) ***** now this is me licking my chops
(turns and looks at me) “Did he give my treat to Mom?  Did she just eat it?”
(looks back up at John) “Maybe he ate it.”
“I went outside, you owe me a treat”  (more cute face)
 
“Have I really been standing here for 5 minutes talking for the dog?”  asks John.
 
My reply?  “You better give her a treat.  She thinks you have been talking to her about her treat.”
 
She got her treat.
 
And, I kid you not, within 2 minutes of getting her treat, she is scratching at the back door to go out and actually do her “business”.  Did she get a treat when she came back in?  Of course!
 
I swear sometimes we act like 12 year old children. 
 
Just a funny story I felt like sharing!
Leave a Reply

